Rain ~ At Grandma’s House.

Does this count as painting en plein aire?! It was raining – a really rather frequent occurrence during this particular trip – So, I sat in my mother’s conservatory and painted this one of the garden outside. I am not really a water colorist, but, when I am away from home I take with me my little Windsor and Newton field box, which has 12 half pans, and a water brush or two. I just got a whole new set of water brushes, made by Molotow (The original Molotow Aqua Squeeze Pen). It contains 6 brushes, ranging from 1 mm through to 10mm) I have never had such big brushes in a water brush, so I really enjoyed their ability to cover large areas of paper! In case any of my readers don’t know, a water brush is kind of like a pen in appearance, but with a barrel you fill with water and a brush for the tip, you squeeze it to make the water run through the tip – A must have for travelling water colorists the world over!

That was a fun afternoon – drinking tea, eating custard tarts and talking with my Mum and daughter as the rain pitter pattered busily on the conservatory roof. I’m English, I love rain – I don’t understand why others don’t, but maybe it’s because I never let it get in the way of what I’m doing! The earth would be a brown place indeed without regular sprinklings of rain.

So this little painting was an homage to rain and a memory of a particular afternoon. After some scratching of my head, I decided to depict the actual raindrops by getting a needle from my Mum’s needlework box and scratching intermittent parallel lines across the paper at even intervals…something I have never done before – I’m not sure if you can see it very well from this photo, but, it seemed to be the best way to go.

Hope you like it ~ How about you, do you love the rain or do you prefer non-stop sunshine? Or snow? or something else???

3 thoughts on “Rain ~ At Grandma’s House.

  1. This is so pretty! β˜”οΈ I like how you did the rain in your painting. 😊 Looks like a soft, gentle rain. We could really use some rain here as it is so hot and dry and there are wild fires everywhere.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your kind words, Jill ~ English rain often is quite soft and gentle! I came home to Pennsylvania and we’ve been having lashings of rain here, too…..sounds like you need me to send some over to YOU!! Hope you get some – soon! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

