Sneak Peek!

Today I am giving you guys a sneak peek at what I have been working on lately! This piece is the first of two that I am painting for an online auction.  A couple of weeks ago I heard that the orphanage run by my husband’s cousin, in Nepal, was holding an online auction, to raise funds and they were asking for people to donate items/artwork/services.  So, I decided that I was going to see what I could produce for them in the time between finding out about it and the submission deadline – which is just before the middle of this month.  This picture actually represents a collaboration between myself and a friend who is an excellent photographer.  Knowing that many of the likely bidders will have connections to my local church congregation, I asked my friend if she had any good references for their place of worship and local landmark – Bryn Athyn Cathedral.  She offered me no less than 9 to choose from and this is one of the ones I chose…..I have yet to name it, but, it will probably contain the words “magnolia” and “Bryn Athyn Cathedral” or possibly a quote from the Writings of Emanual Swedenborg (……any suggestions are welcome?!) and thanks go to my photographer friend, Anita Halterman for the wonderful reference that inspired this one and her kind permission to use it.

I will post a link to the auction, when it opens, in case anyone is interested.  It gives me great pleasure to do a project like this, using something I love to do to raise funds for a worthy cause!

This piece is Acrylic on Gessoed MDF (Medium Density Fiberboard) I used a limeted palette of Titanium white, Ivory Black, Cobalt Blue, Permanent Magenta and Neutral N7, with just a hint of lemon yellow to warm the whites up in places! (All paint was Windsor and Newton, except the N7 which is Golden Paints.)  Oh and I used quite a bit of Golden Acrylic Glazing liquid for the clouds! Probably I will give it a couple of coats of Matt varnish before it goes in that frame!

Now, I just need to get a move on on the second painting!

 

Leave a Reply

