How far that little candle throws his beams

This picture is the result of a challenge I did recently for an art forum I belong to.  I don’t often do still life’s, but this was a good excuse to have a go at something that had been niggling away in the back of my mind, but never getting the nudge to bring it out into reality.  I have had a fascination with candlelight and candles for quite some time and have spent a fair while wrestling with the idea of people and candlelight – but no, this time the real challenge element was that glass. Ever since I read about Barbara Buers stunning still life works, in acrylics (The Acrylic Painter’s Book of Styles and Techniques – Rachel Rubin Wolf) – think, crystal glass and flowers on dark background – I have been itching to give it a try, and yet, not quite having the oomph to do it.  So, when the January challenge came up on the JWJ Art Forum and I saw two seperate items “Glass” and “Candle” on the list of 5…..that was the spark that got me going.  Creative ideas are often like candles, they can burn small and steady, but, just as easily, they can be affected by imperceptible breezes and occasionally, just occasionally, knocked head over heels into a crazy inferno.  Who needs a proverbial lightbulb to come on over their head? I’d rather have a candle. (Many thanks to William Shakespeare for the title quote – which ends, ” so shines a good dead in a naughty world” – I love it!)

2 thoughts on “How far that little candle throws his beams

Leave a Reply

